my christmas > actual christmas

I heard all three of my children jumping on the same full-size bed, chanting “Christmas is in 31 days! Christmas is in 31 days! Christmas is in 31 days! Aww yea, guys, Christmas is in 31 days!”

Now, I’m like, way in the Christmas spirit – my tree has been up since the day after Halloween, but even I panicked a little bit. 31 days?

I opened the countdown app on my iPhone, the app that’s counting down to all of the upcoming and exciting events in my life – my oldest daughter’s ninth birthday (omg), the day that I CANNOT forget to stage our new scout elf’s arrival (OMG), a couple of movie premieres, and Christmas.

Ah, yes. There it was. 31 days.

31 days until Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

“Hey, guys!” I yelled up the stairs. “Christmas is in 39 days, not 31!”

“You told us it was 32 yesterday! And 33 the day before that!”

Heh. Honest mistake.

Spill it.

