the sorting hat

I was fourteen-years-old when the first book in the Harry Potter series was published, however – being muggle-born – we had a strict ‘no wizardry and witchcraft under the roof’ rule, so it wasn’t really a thing I was allowed – nor was it even an interest.

Fast forward to today and I’m so obsessed.

If you’ve read any of my past few posts, you’ve probably assumed as much.

My kids and I are currently eight chapters into Year 3, reading about The Prisoner of Azkaban through breakfast and lunch, and cramming in as many chapters as we can each night before someone crashes and we have to wait until morning to continue – the perks of being a quirky bunch of unschoolers.

Everyone is properly sorted: my oldest daughter and I are Slytherins, my youngest daughter – a Hufflepuff, and her twin brother – Ravenclaw.

My husband does not share our love of the series, but probably only because he isn’t paying attention while I read aloud – my inflection is on point.

The other night while he was doing his thing (his thing is video games), I asked him if he would answer some random questions for an internet quiz and he obliged. He’s a good sport when he doesn’t know that Hogwarts Houses are involved. And just as I suspected, he was sorted into Gryffindor.

The friend who formally introduced me to the series and to whom I am eternally grateful, encouraged me to have a house cup tournament – being that we have all four houses represented – and, I dunno if I’m playing it the right way, but I suspect she’d appreciate my whimsy.

  • Husband told me that I looked cute? 50 points for Gryffindor!
  • Husband surprised me with Reese’s eggs because he knows that they have my favorite chocolate to peanut butter ratio? 100 points for Gryffindor!
  • Husband ate the last piece of bacon…? 200 POINTS FROM GRYFFINDOR, SLYTHERIN FOREVER.

He’s really loving it, I think. (He is not loving it.)

Spill it.

